Sending A Shout-Out to the “My Natural” WSSU Student Organization

While many of you were still laying snug in your beds the My Natural WSSU student organization was working in the crisp morning air at Simon’s Green Acre Community garden this Saturday from 9am -11am. This organization was formed in the Fall of this year. They are taking WSSU’s motto seriously, “Enter to learn. Depart to serve.”  They hope to serve as an example to other student organizations regarding being active with volunteer service. They are committed to making a difference in the lives of others.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Aside from learning about composting, picking peppers and pulling weeds the girls reminded me of another value of the garden — fellowship. I found myself edging closer to the group so I could participate in their lively conversation, brainstorming about business ventures and lots of jokes and playful banter.

A special thanks to Irma Jackson, master gardener, who paid us a visit and provided an impromptu lesson about growing and maintaining herbs and the use of herbs. Irma was kind enough to take some Basil from our garden….she dried it, ground it and put it in a fun little bottle for me to use when I’m cooking. I’m fortunate to come in contact with individuals who have a wealth of knowledge and experiences to share. I am constantly learning. Gardening is so much more than just digging in the dirt.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Felicia Benson on November 14, 2011 at 8:45 pm

    This is AWESOME! Proud of the My Natural Organization!

    Reply

Leave a comment